Understanding The Principles of Dementia L3

Start Date
Course Course
Health & Social Care

About this Course

The Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of Dementia Care is designed for learners who want to develop their knowledge and understanding of dementia and dementia care. It is suitable for those employed in the health and social care sector who want to a gain a recognised qualification to support career progression, and for those with a personal interest in dementia and dementia care.

Key Units

  • Unit 01: Understanding dementia 
  • Unit 02: Understand how person-centred approaches are used to underpin the care and support of individuals with dementia
  • Unit 03: Principles of communication and interaction in dementia care and support 
  • Unit 04: Supporting positive interaction, occupation and activity in dementia care 
  • Unit 05: Principles of equality, diversity and inclusion in dementia care and support 
  • Unit 06: Understand how to support individuals with dementia to exercise choice and rights
  • Unit 07: Principles of the administration of medication and well-being of individuals with dementia

Entry Requirements

Learners must be aged 19+ years.

There are no specific recommended prior learning requirements for this qualification, however learners may find it helpful if they have already achieved a Level 2 health and social care related qualification.


Learners complete an online booklet. 

Where does this Lead

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress to:
  • Level 3 Certificate in Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care
  • Level 3 Certificate in Working in the Health Sector
  • Level 3 Certificate in Understanding Mental Health 
  • Level 4 qualifications in Health and Social Care

Future Opportunities

This qualification will support progression into relevant employment within the health and social care sector. The qualification does not infer competence in the work role, but can be used to support the underpinning knowledge and understanding needed for those working in, or towards, a dementia care role.

Tell Me More

This qualification is delivered online. These level 2 courses are free if you are a resident of South Yorkshire Mayoral Combined Authority (comprising of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield), as these qualifications can be fully-funded at no cost to you! For a level 3 course, funding may be available and we will assess your personal circumstances to establish if you qualify. Click here to find out more.

Tell us what you think

Did you get everything you need? Rate the course information we've provided using the stars below.

If you would like to contact us please Get in Touch.